top of page
Afternoon Prayer

How to Pray

How to Pray pillars of Islam Faith Prayer zakat fasting hajj 5 pillars essence of Islam
  • Faith: Monotheism and the belief in Prophet Muhammad (peace be upon him) as the last messenger of God is the central tenet of Islam around which everything else revolves, and reciting the Shahada (shahadah) in prayer each day serves to remind Muslims of this integral belief.
  • Salah (salat): occurs five times a day, and offers five different opportunities for remembrance of Allah SWT and our purpose in this life to worship Him.
  • Zakat: is obligatory on all those able to pay it and serves as an important means of redistributing wealth to those in need of it.
  • Fasting: gives muslims the opportunity to learn to control our base desires and appreciate the tranquility that brings.
  • Hajj: A pilgrimage to the holy city of Mecca that every muslim, with the means to, must achieve atleast once in their life.

More from our How to Guide:

Extra How To

How To Pay Sadaqah (Charity)


How To Read Quran


How To Pray Istikhara (Seeking Council) 


How To Pray Taraweeh (In Ramadan)


How To Pray Tahajjud (Night Prayer)


How To Pray Witr (Odd Numbered Prayer)

bottom of page